Wipe MFT
Wipe MFT    

Wipe MFT

Wipe MFT free space         How to wipe deleted file names         On-line Help        

Wipe MFT is free software.
WipeMFT supports Windows 8/7/Vista/XP/2008/2003/2000. WipeMFT supports 32-bit and 64-bit Windows versions


How to wipe names of deleted files from the MFT / directory entries

MFT (Master File Table) is a reserved space on NFTS disks, where the file system stores name and attributes of the files (Directory entries in FAT is the analog of MFT records on NTFS).

Wipe MFT software provides an easy solution to wipe MFT records (Master File Table records) and Directory entries which store names, dates, size and other attributes of deleted files.

How to wipe MFT records - Wipe MFT records tips


Why you should wipe MFT records

Do you know that your sensitive files remain in your computer even after you deleted them?
MFT (Master File Table) is a reserved space on NFTS disks, where the file system stores name and attributes of the files. Directory entries in FAT is the analog of MFT records on NTFS.

When you delete files using standard Windows delete operations, Windows marks corresponding entries in MFT / Directory entries as unused, but this operation does not delete MFT records (on NFTS) / Directory entries (on FAT) and files themselves and it is possible to restore deleted files as well as deleted file names.

Even if you wipe free space to permanently delete previously deleted files, MFT records on NTFS disks (or Directory entries on FAT disks) still store deleted file names and other users can find them.

If you deleted files moving them to the Recycle Bin, deleted files without moving them to the Recycle Bin and emptied the Recycle Bin, you will not be able to view these files using standard Windows options as Windows deletes references to these files. But all 'deleted' files still exist on the disk until they are overwritten with other files and could be restored using special tools. In this case to permanently delete previously deleted files you should wipe free space. But it is not enough. You should also delete file names of deleted files as deleted file names are stored in another place (not on free disk space) and it is possible to find names of the deleted files. To completely deleted all traces of deleted files you should additionally wipe deleted file names stored in MFT.

Related articles:

How to securely delete files from your hard drive or USB drive

If you have sensitive files that you no longer need, you should permanently delete them to prevent recovering sensitive data. When you delete files using standard Windows options, Windows just removes references to the deleted files but the files still exist on your hard drive until they are overwritten. As Windows doesn't immediately overwrite the space from the deleted files and it is possible to recover deleted files.

If you are concerned about privacy and don't want your sensitive files to be recovered, you should permanently delete files. But wiping files is a two-part process - you should not only permanently delete files content but also wipe deleted files names.

To permanently delete files from the hard drive by overwriting their content using special wiping algorithms and securely delete file names, you can use file shredder software. If you delete files with delete files permanently software, the program permanently deletes files content.

How to wipe names of deleted files from MFT / directory entries

Wipe MFT software helps you wipe MFT records of deleted files in Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2008, 2003 and 2000.
How to delete files permanently

Wipe MFT records Windows 7

Wipe MFT records Vista

Wipe MFT software

   Copyright © 2014 Wipe MFT.com All rights reserved | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Site Map    Wednesday, April 23, 2014